MONSTROUS

Tommy Walker

That Thar

In the words of one reviewer, Monstrous is the “story of a young man who enjoys walking around all day and night”. And it happens, more often than not, that the raw material for Monstrous was gathered via tape recorder while I walked around.

The passage below is a one-of-a-kind. In all other cases on my tape recorder walks, my surroundings were immaterial, but just this once I opened my eyes to the world around me. I sought to illustrate how I used to be on the lookout for opportunities, and so was looking for things I could steal.

‘Well, let’s see…They say that trees have as much root beneath the ground as they have tree above it, and that thar being a fairly hefty maple anyway, stealing it would probably be unreasonable. But there on the porch are a couple lawn chairs which aren’t nailed down, only there’s a window open and car in the garage, so someone might be home and see me.’

October 13, 2013 - Posted by | Monstrous | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Speak to Me!

