MONSTROUS

Tommy Walker

The Cat Ladies Can Take It

Let me start off tonight by saying how glad I am that a search of “childhoods of serial killers” can lead to my homepage. I have a near stringing of these words in my post of August 28th, though all I suggested about their childhoods at the time was that they were more remarkable than could be seen with the public eye.

A key way in which Monstrous differentiates itself from the true crime genre, which wouldn’t have me anyway, is that my entire story takes place in a speculative leading-up stage, whereas in true crime most of a story occurs when, from my perspective, the story is practically over. A person once accepted as such, crosses a line over which he can never return, and is transformed into a monster. Then it is on to the good stuff? All that happens from this moment onward is that a pattern repeats.

*****

The cat ladies of BookCrossing, person for person, like my book more than the people who most likely find me by searching “autobiography of a serial killer”. A worker at Amazon foisted that tag upon me, and I tried unsuccessfully to have it removed. Probably I should feel thankful to have any tag at all, no matter how misleading, because without it my book might never be found. I show up on page eight of nine for books browsed by readers who also visited Final Truth: The Autobiography of a Serial Killer, and apparently nowhere else.

But ah, yes, the cat ladies. Defined as those people who have rated my book through bookcrossing.com, they give my sample size quite a boost.

10 **
9- *
8- *******
7- ***
6- *
5- *
4-
3-
2-
1- **

“Yer an eight! Yer an eight!”
“Well, okay…” Pissssss.
“Yuck, you were an eight, but now yer a two!”

My BookCrossing median and mode is an 8, while my mean is a 7, or 3.5 when converted to Amazon’s five-star scale. Minus good pals from New Zealand, which is where both ‘1’s came from, my then 3.9 would beat my nemesis Snow Falling On Cedars‘ 3.8, but I don’t suppose that is allowed. It may well be that David Guterson will always have me beat in percentage of satisfied customers, even if I can hit the ball 500 feet and he can’t hit it 400.

October 10, 2013 - Posted by | Monstrous | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Speak to Me!

