MONSTROUS

Tommy Walker

A Few of my Lamest Lines

Not in absolute terms, but for how short they fell of conveying powerfully real emotional experiences. I never felt more choked up, for instance, speaking into my tape recorder, than when I said

My heart was broken. [page 83]

but as words on a page all a reader could do is take my word for it. I had split my Spider-man essay into two parts that would appear about twenty pages apart in order to show a contextual chronological progression, with the likely result that the reader would have forgotten the build-up to that line and would not have felt choked up.

Another of the lamest, I’m acutely aware of now, was when I said of a figure in one of my dreams:

Her voice was weirdly muffled. [page 308]

I actually acted out this dream as part of a New Age workshop once, and the sound that came out of me when I got to “weirdly muffled” was a great deal more than that. My interpreter suggested that perhaps I should never allow myself to be in the same room with my mother ever again.

September 18, 2013 - Posted by | Monstrous | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Speak to Me!

