MONSTROUS

Tommy Walker

Bainbridge Authors

It was an interesting time for me when David Guterson visited the Starbucks support center as part of his launch of The Other, to be sitting cross-legged in the audience giving him eyes like the mole in Erin Brockovich. Well, kinda sorta. Certainly I was the only one between us who knew that he wasn’t the best writer in that room.

Jack Olsen used to come to the store where I worked before he passed away, and that was interesting on a whole ‘nother level. Surely, if I was the best, he could have ranked no higher than second, and yet he was so ridiculously accomplished. I once left a disturbing message on his answering machine that led to some interesting byways; it told of the existence of my book-in-progress and desire to speak with him, but it felt so crazy for me to expose myself in this way that it came out like I still might have been psycho.

As result of that call, I spoke with an officer at the police station and two what were they– psychologists? But I never spoke with Jack as intended, except to satisfy him briefly that I hadn’t meant harm. A few years later I became a grocery clerk and inherited Jack as a patron. Always wondered as I dished out change if he might recognize my voice, but I don’t think he ever did.

August 18, 2013 - Posted by | Monstrous | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Speak to Me!

