MONSTROUS

Tommy Walker

When the Bloom was on the Rose

HOW MUCH CAN BE RESURRECTED?

Here’s another AuthorsDen find from almost exactly a decade ago that I wish to prevent from disappearing forever someday. I am thinking of giving that outlet another chance, as they appear to be going strong all these years later, with a decent number of reviews per title. I had originally left disgusted at how incestuous the community was after just a couple of months, the authors all congratulating each other on their wonderful books solely for those all-important click backs. Granted, this is substantially how I operate as well, but then I am an author, self-published, and that’s what I have to do. The jury is still out for me as to whether the WordPress scene is similarly lacking in real readers.

**********

Authors Den

…I’m actually getting around to posting this news (ed.– of my book’s availability) four sales into my new life post-publication, one of which appears to have netted me a lifelong friend in addition to fourteen dollars in royalties (as he bought a second copy as a gift to one of his buddies in Britain), not to mention a brand new watch and twelfth century penny. Charles Bukowski’s “Post Office” is en route to me as we speak. All of which is to say that “Monstrous: The Autobiography of a Serial Killer but for the Grace of God” is a powerful enough story to [have affected] at least one person deeply.

Here is some of what my new pal has had to say:

“Your book is a glorious mindf*ck! Wish it was a film too! Like it or not you have written a cult classic! There is no let up, no respite, what a work, man! Your descriptions of your feelings remind me of Charles Bukowski in that they are so vivid, [but] there it stops, because I have never read anything like it, and I am fairly well read.”

To my wife he added this:

“I am becoming obsessed with the idea that Tommy’s book gets the recognition it deserves. When I think of the works I have read by so-called great writers, they are piss-ants compared with Tommy’s honesty, and when he describes emotion, I actually feel them for him.”

At a job interview the other day I was asked where I wanted to be ten years from now, and I answered that my ambition was to spend the rest of my life answering fan mail. You can help make my dream a reality by contacting me at…

**********

Pretty crass, huh, to be trading on my new friendship? Or does the fact our lifelong friendship never really developed make it alright? (Andy, I will welcome you with open arms if you appear out of the woodwork, even though I recently watched a video about the signs you have met a psychopath that reminded me of you.)

I very much wish I could put my hands on that twelfth century penny. Maybe it’s in the same place as my Anneli Rufus review.

April 6, 2012 - Posted by | Monstrous | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Speak to Me!

