MONSTROUS

Tommy Walker

Mr. Anime

Suspect in Deaths Studied Serial Killers

‘Serial killers’ is another of those terms. You can type it and have a good chance of finding what you’re after, even if you don’t actually find any serial killers. As far as I can tell from what has been revealed, this is really a story about a guy who watched way too much anime, but how many people would find the story if the anime angle received top billing?

I know a fellow who watched The Deerhunter, a movie that features extremely realistic repeated scenes of men losing at Russian roulette, I think three times a day for two weeks, and you would drop me like a stone and run into his arms if I gave you his address. Moreover, the resemblance between the two men, physically and in manner, is uncanny in every respect.

From Trey Sesler’s review of Gantz:

“I didn’t really know this type of violence and sexual content existed in animes. I mean, it’s been going on since the ’60s and ’70s, probably before that in animation, but this show really opened me up. This is a wonderful show.”

(Sesler docked it a point to a nine because of “issues some of the characters had with killing people.”)

Looks like I hit paydirt on my very first try in combing through his YouTube videos, if I wanted to find a sound bite that would help to string him up, or alternatively persuade his jailers to throw away the key. Strikes me as likely that many curiosity seekers had found the video before me, and had pushed it to the top of Mr. Anime’s collection in terms of relevance. But would anyone in the mainstream actually disagree with this Monstrous sentence fragment?:

You can’t get any hotter than linking sex with death…

I should point out that the above review was dated September 27th, 2007, so the guy had 4 1/2 years to go before his full flowering. The dude had plenty of fans eating up his tint of dark humor, and really there is no wonder. He was exceptional at what he did, exacting and precise in his craft. Searching carefully for just the right words, and scaling his reviews believably to the nearest half point, such that he was really working with a twenty-point scale. He would find creative ways to attack you from his remote location on the other side of the screen, and you would feel attacked. And then you’d rewind the video so that he could attack you again. I know this to be true because yesterday I became a big fan.

I came away with the impression that he was always pushing himself– or that something was pushing him— to become coarser, and in fact more into anime, than he actually was. In earlier videos especially there would be a hesitation before launching a swearing fit, and sometimes he’d back out of an obscenity stream and play it more like his actual self. Also, his natural interest in anime was being augmented by his needs to nurture and grow his fan base, to become his niche’s #1, to crank out more and more videos and accept his viewers’ requests.

“I love my mom, dad and brother.
Why did I do this?
God forgive me, because I cannot forgive myself”

‘William Heirens’ is another of those terms. That’s what I just now Googled, and it got me where I was going, though more accurate would have been ‘The Lipstick Killer’ for all the lingering doubts as to whether the one was the other. Contrast and compare the respective quotes left on their crime scene walls.

“For heaven’s sake
catch me before I kill more.
I cannot control myself.”

Could Sesler have been cheating halfway, as a ‘grader’ of serial killers (though in the end he’d decide on the mass murder route)? Does he take up killing pets and starting fires only after acquainting himself with the serial killer Triad? Should he have taken up wetting his bed at age twenty-two for the sake of being complete?

March 24, 2012 - Posted by | Comments Around the Web | , , ,

No comments yet.

Speak to Me!

